16th SPE Automotive Awards

Clutch pedal

Team Led by AKRO-PLASTIC Wins First Prize in „Powertrain“ Category

SPE Award 2015

For the 16th SPE Automotive Awards, AKRO-PLASTIC GmbH teamed up with Batz, S. Coop.; PME fluidtec GmbH; Moldetipo and BMW AG and was awarded first place in the Powertrain category. The winning component was a bearing block manufactured from AKROMID® B3 ICF 20 and a clutch pedal made of AKROMID® B3 ICF 15 (see header).

The award was based on various innovations, in the materials category and production process, and the weight reduction achieved with the process. The material used is a carbon-fibre reinforced PA 6 made with carbon fibres originating from conditioned edge trimmings from BMW AG. In a modified FEDDEM extruder, the fibres are converted to a highly stable compound which surpasses the strengths of a glass-fibre reinforced polyamide whilst also being 12.5% lighter. The PME fluidtec water-injection system used in production ensures an entirely reproducible process which, when combined with a Moldetipo mould and the AKROMID® material, meets the high standards of BMW AG. The component hollowed out by the water-injection process demonstrates greater stiffness and strength with uniform wall thicknesses.

Image dimensions not found

Change image or reupload it

Clutch pedal with bearing block made of AKROMID® B3 ICF 20

In the Image/Product Brochure category, AKRO-PLASTIC received second place for the brochure featuring this innovative carbon-fibre product line, which is sold at AKRO-PLASTIC under the names AKROMID® ICF, AKROTEK® ICF and AKROLOY® ICF.

The aspects of the brochure which delighted the jury were the systematic conversion and conditioning of this highly technical product and the "palpably" rendered carbon structure on the brochure cover.

Image dimensions not found

Change image or reupload it

From left: Sponsor Matthias Dykhuis, Kraus Maffei Technologies GmbH; Reinhold Krischke, BMW AG; Thomas Raithel, AKRO-PLASTIC GmbH; Pedro Zubieta, Batz, S. Coop.; Fernando Burguera Albizuri, Batz, S. Coop.; Friedrich Westphal, PME fluidtec GmbH; Thilo Stier, AKRO-PLASTIC GmbH; Dr. Klaus Dieter Johnke, SPE Europe.


Talk to Our Experts

If you are interested in more information, please contact our one of our experts!